Free Startup Ideas – Part 3

Posted on March 25, 2008. Filed under: Free tips | Tags: , |

This is part 3 of my series of startup ideas. Part 1 and Part 2 received decent response, though I am yet to hear if they sound reasonable or not.

Personalized technology tracker/Search Engine

This is something, I have personally wanted to do. But me being lazy, not able to get started on this.

I like RSS because I can check the contents whenever I want. I like dzone, because it makes me learn something new in my technology. But subscribing to RSS of all sites like dzone and manually categorizing/prioritizing them is a tough task and most of the time, people tend to ignore good contents.

Let me take an example. I recently started hacking grails. Now I need a mechanism to categorize contents from sites like dzone into Articles, Tips, Code Snippets, New Developer tools related to grails etc. There should be a way to rate contents. Like articles coming directly from Grails developers, should get higher ranking. Now this entire site has to be personalized. Which means I decide the rating, categories etc. But the site should suggest me new sources, based on what others are using.

Obvious advantage of this is that the site now becomes my own personalized vertical search engine for my technology. Add the ability to crawl forums, then you have a perfect Vertical technology Search Engine.

What do you think about this?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Free Startup Ideas – Part 3”

RSS Feed for Desistartups – Indian Startups Blog | Startup Reviews | Interviews Comments RSS Feed

Sounds neat to me .. but I wonder how big will be the market. Suddenly I feel there are too many neat ideas born out of your personal need but the wide adoption becomes a problem

The market should be every technical person who wants to stay upto date. The beauty of this is that even though this is personalized search engine, the indexed data could be re-used.

Sorry 5 is not done yet. I am looking for a proper search engine for my technology. Socialsourcecommons is like a box where I can add tools used by others.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

